Select your closest location:

I'm closest to Mandurah Show me all regions

Or select a region:

WritingWA Awards winners announced

Found in: News

writingWA Awards

Congratulations to our 2015 writingWA award winners.

For the third consecutive year the writingWA Awards have uncovered new writing talents in regional WA.

The writingWA Awards were established in 2013 to offer mentoring and professional development support to emerging authors based in regional Western Australia. The Awards consist of two individual annual prizes: The Curtin University Prize for Fiction and the State Library of Western Australia Prize for WA History. Each prize offers $6000 of professional development support in the form of mentoring and editorial guidance.

The judges of the 2015 Curtin University Prize for Fiction – author and Curtin University Senior Lecturer David Whish-Wilson and Editor Delys Bird were impressed by the overall quality of manuscripts submitted and felt that several had merit and demonstrated serious writerly aspirations. 

From this strong field Karratha based teacher and writer, Marc Simojoki was selected as the clear winner for his evocative and atmospheric manuscript The Sea Dog. David Whish-Wilson, writing on behalf of Curtin University, the sponsor of the award, said that “it was terrific to discover a regional writer with such a distinctive voice and approach to his topic – exactly the purpose of the award.”

In another exciting result from the 2015 writingWA Awards, the State Library of WA Prize for WA History has been awarded to Veronica Malone. Veronica, a former journalist and regional correspondent for the ABC and several leading newspapers, now lives in Geraldton. With a keen interest in gathering oral history and local folk lore from the Mid-West region Veronica will be researching and writing a work about the history of the Batavia Coast.

State Librarian, Margaret Allen, said the State Library supports writing as an art form and the creation of new works. “The diversity of projects being tackled by aspiring writers in regional WA will contribute significantly to the documentation and preservation of our State’s history. The State Library is particularly pleased to be supporting this development process.” Ms Allen said.

As winners of the writingWA Awards for 2015, both authors will now be working with the guidance and support of professional mentors to further develop their individual manuscripts for publication readiness.


Facebook Page:

Latest news/events

Alternative magazine seeks Spring 2018 submissions

The Matador Review is seeking Spring 2018...