Select your closest location:

I'm closest to Mandurah Show me all regions

Or select a region:


Found in: News

Western Australia’s newest literary awards, the writingWA Awards, support emerging writers in regional areas of Western Australia.

The Awards are offered in partnership with Curtin University and the State Library of Western Australia.

The Awards will consist of two individual annual prizes: The Curtin University Prize for Fiction and the State Library of Western Australia Prize for WA History.

Each prize offers $6000 of professional development support in the form of mentoring and editorial guidance. Mentors are established writers and editors experienced in these genres and will work with each Award winner in the development of their manuscript for submission to publishers.

State Librarian, Margaret Allen, said the State Library supports writing as an art form and the creation of new works. “We are particularly pleased to sponsor the prize for WA history since the State Library is charged with preserving the State’s documentary heritage,” Ms Allen said.

Curtin University’s Acting Head of Communications and Cultural Studies, David Whish-Wilson, said: “Curtin University has a long-standing commitment to providing regional education opportunities and Curtin has always sought to foster successful partnerships that enhance our teaching programmes. The Curtin University Prize for Fiction provides a significant opportunity for regional writers to develop their creative writing within the context of a publishing environment.”

The writingWA Awards take a unique position in WA’s awards landscape, complimenting the established T.A.G. Hungerford Award, which provides a cash prize and publishing contract to an unpublished writer, and the Premier’s Book Awards which acknowledge and reward excellence in published books.

Entries close at 5pm on Friday 3 October 2014.   

For further information about the Awards, including Conditions and Entry Form, visit

Latest news/events

Alternative magazine seeks Spring 2018 submissions

The Matador Review is seeking Spring 2018...