Select your closest location:

I'm closest to Mandurah Show me all regions

Or select a region:

Readings Young Adult Book Prize

Found in: News

Readings is delighted to announce that they are launching a third literary prize in 2017!

The Readings Young Adult Book Prize will celebrate exciting emerging voices in Australian young adult literature. First and second published works of young adult fiction and memoir are eligible, and the Prize is awarded to the best new contribution to Australian young adult literature. In 2017, the winning author will receive $3,000.

Each year, a shortlist of six titles is selected by a revolving panel of Readings staff. 2017 judges include Angela Crocombe (Readings Kids), Natalie Platten (Readings Doncaster), Leanne Hall (Readings Kids) and Lian Hingee (Digital Marketing Manager). Guest Judge Lili Wilkinson will also join the panel to select a winner once the shortlist has been decided. The 2017 shortlist will be announced in late May, with the winner to be decided by late July.

To be eligible:

  • The Readings Young Adult Book Prize is open to published works of young adult memoir and fiction.
  • Young adult fiction may a novel, a novella, a verse novel or a collection of short stories by a single author.
  • Young adult memoir may be original, or a young reader’s edition of an adult memoir.
  • The author must be an Australian citizen or hold permanent residency at the time of entry.
  • The book must be the author’s first or second published work of young adult fiction only. The author may have published books in other areas.
  • Co-authored works will only be considered if all contributing authors fit our guidelines.
  • Books published only in e-book form are not eligible to be entered.
  • Self-published works are not eligible to be entered.
  • Entries must be published in English.
  • Authors must be living at the date of publication.
  • To be eligible for the 2017 Prize, books must have been first published between Thursday 28 April 2016 and 27 April 2017.
  • Authors who are employed by Readings during the judging period for each year are not eligible for the Prize. For the 2017 Prize round, this period is from Thursday 28 April 2016, through to Friday 28 July 2017.
  • Authors who win the Readings Prize for Young Adult Fiction will no longer be eligible for this Prize in future years.
For further information about the prize, please visit the link here.


Latest news/events

Alternative magazine seeks Spring 2018 submissions

The Matador Review is seeking Spring 2018...